Home » Uncategorized » Valentine Gifts Made With My Own Two Hands

Valentine Gifts Made With My Own Two Hands

v pillows2016

Little people have lots of love to share. They draw you pictures, give you unexpected, yet sweet hugs, and they tell you how much they love you. It truly is one the purest forms of love. This Valentine’s day, I experienced a new and thoughtful Valentine’s tradition – Secret Valentines.

Students were randomly assigned a secret valentine. Then, based on what they know of this classmate, they selected from an assortment of heart shaped fabric. Once names were picked, fabric chosen – the fun begins! Family members volunteered to help the little ones sew heart shaped pillows. I have never ever thought to sew with kindergarteners and first graders. But to my surprise, they did it! They stuffed the pillows, stitched them up, then wrote a “guess who” list full of clues describing their secret valentine. They went something likes this:

This person has brown hair.

This person likes to play baseball.

This person likes Pokemon.

This person likes to draw.

This person is good on the monkey bars.

valentines.2016

Yesterday, the little ones read aloud their clues and gave their heart pillows to their secret valentine.  They also passed out homemade valentine cards to the class. My heart smiled when they gave me a piece of themselves and handed me their cards. “I made this just for you!” Sweetest thing ever.

When a child gives you a gift, even if it is just a rock they just picked up, exude gratitude. It may be the only thing they have to give, and they have chosen to give it to you.

– Dean Jackson

 

 

