Home » My Picture Books » Inspiration for New Bilingual Picture Book – Monster Slayer

Inspiration for New Bilingual Picture Book – Monster Slayer

monsterSlayer_Cover

I have been reading and rereading my latest bilingual picture book – MONSTER SLAYER. The illustrations are gorgeous and brilliantly done by Lina Safar. I am looking forward to sharing this book with my friends and family. My good friend and founder of My Escuelita: Spanish for Kids, is hosting the book release and signing party on Saturday, February 6th, 2015.

As with any product that is created and shared, some will think it is a great book, some will think it is just OK, and others will loudly say, no gracias. But I am beginning to understand this “game”, and for this reason I have to remember the inspiration behind Monster Slayer, my little sister.

gladys:annaliz.dress

My little sister is two years younger than me and I always used my “smartness” to her advantage. I was seven years old and she was five. I knew how to read, she didn’t. I knew how to do many more things and always let her know, one way or another, that I was the “big sister”. But as adults, oh how things have changed. My little sister is my best friend, my teacher of many things and my rock. Whenever I have needed direction, she has always been there to lead the way. Whenever I have needed reassurance, she has cheered me on, and when I have faltered, she has gently helped me pick up the pieces.

My little sister, or Poka, as she is lovingly called, is one of the best gifts that I have ever received. Little sister, thank you so much for being a living example of beauty, grace, kindness, love and laugher. I can’t believe that growing up, I tried to get rid of you on numerous occasions. I am beyond blessed to have you here on this journey…

“Is solace anywhere more comforting than in the arms of a sister.”– Alice Walker

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Inspiration for New Bilingual Picture Book – Monster Slayer

Comments are closed.