Home » Vocabulary and Literacy » Follow Up On Writing Portfolios in First Grade – Trimester 3

Follow Up On Writing Portfolios in First Grade – Trimester 3

images

At the beginning of the school year, I wrote on how I use writing portfolios to help guide classroom instruction. I shared independent writing samples with the intention of showing their progress every trimester. The second trimester has just ended and literally zoomed by. It feels so short because it is smack in the middle of winter break (not complaining, we teachers need it). When classes resume in January, I feel like I teach for a few weeks, only to start reassessing for the mid-year reporting period. The class schedule can sometimes get pretty hectic when you look at the multitude of standards and content required in a short amount of time. But we do our best, I do my best and my students most certainly do their best.

This second trimester, I have been continuing with guided writing, shared writing, interactive writing and making class big books. I have also been teaching specific grammar skills like possessive nouns, past tense and my favorite, the use of the word “an”. I applaud that they are fearless when attempting to incorporate new skills in their writing. These writing samples are taken monthly and students are free to write what they please. As you can see, there is marked improvement in their writing from the first day of school to now. Yahoo!

This student is on grade level and is doing well in all subject areas.

First day of school - August 20th/ DRA 4

First day of school – August 20th/ DRA 4

Feb 23rd- End of 2nd Trimester DRA 14

Feb 23rd-
End of 2nd Trimester
DRA 14

Backside of writing piece. DRA 14

Backside of writing piece.
DRA 14

This student is developing proficiency in language arts.

First day of school. August 20th / DRA 2

First day of school – August 20th / DRA 2

Feb 23rd End of 2nd Trimester DRA 6

Feb 23rd –
End of 2nd Trimester
DRA 6

This student is far below grade level and continues receiving intensive reading intervention in and out of the classroom.

Nov 18th  End of 1st Trimester DRA 2

Nov 18th
End of 1st Trimester
DRA 2

Feb 23rd - End of 2nd Trimester DRA 2 Working on reading/writing CVC words

Feb 23rd – End of 2nd Trimester / DRA 2
“I went to the snow. I build a snowman. I play with my sister. At last, I feeled happy. It was fun.”

When this little person turned in the writing piece, I cheered and shouted,”Kiss your brain!” I was so excited to be able to read the writing and this little person was happy to read it aloud.

So now that we begin the third trimester, my focus will be on developing voice and some dialogue. We’ll see how that goes…

I will post their writing samples at the end of the school year in June.  Until then, keep reading, writing and having fun!

“You’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting,
So… get on your way!”

― Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

2 thoughts on “Follow Up On Writing Portfolios in First Grade – Trimester 3

  1. Gladys, this is awesome. This is what I miss from teaching the little ones….to see their growth.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.