Home » Uncategorized » Happy One Year Anniversary My Escuelita! An interview with the founder – Irma Vázquez

Happy One Year Anniversary My Escuelita! An interview with the founder – Irma Vázquez

myescuelitaOn September 8th, 2013, My Escuelita celebrated its grand opening in Redondo Beach, California with an enthusiastic group of family members, colleagues and community members.  My Escuelita: Spanish For Kids was co-founded by Irma Vázquez as a means of providing quality Spanish instruction to young children through art, play, exploration, dance, yoga, music and literature.

Many moons ago, Irma would say she wanted to open her own preschool.  Steadfast on making her dreams a reality, she pasted this quote on a red folder and never looked back.

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back– Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth that ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now. 

― William Hutchison Murray

And today, many moons later we gather together in celebrating My Escuelita’s one year anniversary.

It’s been a year since you opened the Redondo Beach site for My Escuelita. How has this year been?

In one one word, magical! It has been a journey like no other – Bringing families together, teaching young children, hosting cultural events, solidifying my own teaching pedagogy, building community around a very tiny 500 square feet of space.

Briefly tell me your personal goal or mission for My Escuelita?

My goal is to inspire and assist families on the road to learning a second or third language. My mission is to help families embrace not only Spanish as a language, but as a gateway into the abundance of the culture.

What’s been the most memorable moment thus far?

My grand opening on my 45th birthday in September 2013 was the most memorable because My Escuelita was packed with people who have supported me on this journey. The smiles on the children, my proud family and all of my friends made the day and birthday extra special!

What are some of the challenges?

Some of the challenges as any business owner would say is running a business. I love teaching and being an entrepreneur. It is not only exciting but keeps you super super busy.  Balancing my passion for teaching students and being the boss has been the most challenging part of having my own space. But I have found an abundance of support in both the teaching and business community…and that has made all the difference.

What would you like your community to know?

I would like my community to know that everything I do, from teaching to developing curriculum is done with love for children and a deep desire to offer the best practices in language learning. I also want my community to know that my language teaching practices comes from the interest of their own child. Lastly, I would like my community to know that I am a parent first.  And as a parent I know they want their child to be cared for, respected and creative.

How do you find inspiration to keep going?

My family and friends are my village and they support me unconditionally. The community of teachers, artists, musicians, etc. that have come to My Escuelita this year continue to inspire me. But at the end of the day what inspires me the most are the students I teach. They encourage creativity, passion and a yearning to do my very best each and every day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations again on providing a community where the richness and vastness of the Spanish language and it’s diverse culture can be explored and celebrated!

My Escuelita will have an Open House on Saturday, October 11th, 2014.

My Escuelita: Spanish for Kids

1603 Aviation Blvd. #7

Redondo Beach, CA 90278 

irma.myescuelita@gmail.com

http://www.myescuelita.com

http://www.facebook.com/myescuelitaspanishforkids

http://www.twitter.com/myescuelita

 

