Home » Yoga » When Things Don’t Go Your Way

When Things Don’t Go Your Way

beach motifSometimes life hits you hard from every angle. You don’t know how you will manage to stay afloat.Last week I decided to throw in the towel at what has been a hopeless and heartbreaking experience. I have prayed about it, meditated and agonized over it but I finally got to the place where I realized, “It is what it is. I just have to find another avenue. Now onto plan G since the other plans have been fruitless.”   At peace with my decision I encountered a sweet and kind elderly man who said, “Don’t give up just yet. I have a feeling.” Pointing his finger up to the heavens he earnestly asked, “Do you believe?” So moved by his unwavering faith I found myself weeping and nodded. I absolutely do believe. And so I tried yet again.

Ironically, everything has gone backwards and day after day I kept getting indications that things were bleaker than I thought.  Even still, when I would break down and cry I was comforted by the elderly man’s faith.  He did say he had a feeling…

Last night I went to a yoga class and the theme was intention. My intention was to find peace in however things unfold. To find hope in what appears to me as hopeless and to trust that God will handle my affairs for the grandest and highest good of all.

I got more dismal news but thankfully I’m not feeling down. Things are so whacky right now I have no other alternative but to laugh. Maybe this is material for some future sitcom that I’ll be writing. It’s just that ridiculous! And I’m still THRIVING;)  God places strangers in our path to give us some enlightening. I’m grateful for the elderly man’s faith and “feeling” and for my yoga teacher’s calming energy.

“If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” -Martin Luther King Junior

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious…and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”― Walt Disney

And Jesus said to him, “‘If You can?’ All things are possible to him who believes.”-Mark 9:23

 

