Home » My Picture Books » 2014 Int’l Latino Book Awards: Pink Fire Trucks is a Winner!

2014 Int’l Latino Book Awards: Pink Fire Trucks is a Winner!

Book Award LOGO & Image

Pink Fire Trucks was awarded First Place for Most Inspirational Children’s Picture Book (bilingual) in the 2014 International Latino Book Awards! The awards event was held in Las Vegas in conjunction with the 2014 American Library Association Annual Conference.

The ILBA are presented by Latino Literacy Now in partnership with Las Comadres Para Las Américas and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and is an affiliate of the American Library Association. The International Latino Book Awards are not only one of the largest book awards of any kind in the world, they are also the largest Latino cultural awards in the USA. The goal of the awards is to highlight Latino literature and increase the sales of these books. -Kirk Whisler

I was totally surprised when my name was called. Then panic set in when I realized I had to walk down the stairs to the stage to give a brief acceptance speech.Thankfully I didn’t trip and fall. That would have been disastrous and something that normally would happen to me. I’m not sure what I rambled in my nervousness, but I would like to say now that I am extremely grateful and blessed that this book has been so well received.  What an honor. And what a greater honor to be in a venue with so many creative and talented individuals.

gb award acceptance pic

Awards Ceremony for 2014 Int’l Latino Book Awards

After the awards event, we waited for an hour to get a taxi to take us back to the hotel with no success. Tired and hungry, we ended up walking back, down Flamingo Road, on a hot Vegas summer night with my award plague in hand.  I was no longer smiling and I thought I was going to melt:/

The following morning I attended the ALA Conference at the Las Vegas Convention Center as part of the Award Winning Author Tour.

2014 ALA Conference, Las  Vegas

2014 ALA Conference, Las Vegas

I mingled and networked.  I saw an old friend Sandra Scott and made a new one, Lisa Neisa, who traveled to the awards event all the way from Colombia.  She and I meandered through the vast aisles of books, posters, and authors while I got to practice my español and she, her English.  I was like a kid in a candy store as I got free books for my classroom. We even got serenaded by Elvis!

Award Winning Author Tour (ILBA)

Award Winning Author Tour (ILBA)

elvis alaI’m back home and I’m happy to report I didn’t melt…Las Vegas was fun.

And lastly a big thank you to my parents for teaching me the importance of dreaming, reading and learning.

I don’t mind if I have to sit on the floor at school. All I want is education. And I am afraid of no one. -Malala Yousafzai 

 2014 Int’l Latino Book Awards Winners

Growing Int’l Latino Book Awards Reflect Booming Market via NBC News

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

